• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Conference Agenda

Page history last edited by John Windhausen 10 years ago

SHLB Coalition 2014 Annual Conference

"The Premier Conference on Anchor Institution Broadband Policy."

May 7-9, 2014 


Click on the Titles of the Sessions for Descriptions and Bios of the Speakers

Speakers listed below are confirmed  (M) = Moderator

Wed. May 7th


   Workshop #1

FCC's Healthcare Connect Fund Consortia 

2:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.



Matthew Quinn, FCC

Christi Barnhart, FCC

Workshop #2

Building a Gigabit Nation

1:00 - 5:30



Craig Settles


Workshop #3

Regulatory Compliance

Noon - 2 p.m.


Jim Baller, Baller Herbst Law Firm


NTIA: Sustainability of PCC/SBA projects

2:30 - 6 p.m.


Gwenn Weaver, NTIA


6:00-7:30 p.m.

Opening Night Reception

Marriott Marquis Hotel 

Mezzanine Foyer

Thurs. May 8th  

8:30-8:45 a.m.

Plenary #1:

Opening Comments

John Windhausen, SHLB Executive Director

Don Means, SHLB Chairman

8:45-9:15 a.m.



9:15-10:00 a.m.

Plenary #2:

 Louis Fox, CEO of CENIC  


Senator Ed Markey of Massachusetts


9:30-10:00 a.m.


 10:00-11:00 a.m.

E-Rate #1: 

The $2 Billion Question: Funding for E-rate

Jon Bernstein, Bernstein Strategy Group (M)

Jon Wilkins,FCC

Bob Bocher, ALA

Jeff Campbell, Cisco

Wireless Broadband #1:  

White Spaces and CAIs

Michael Calabrese, New America Foundation (M)

Michael Daum, Microsoft

Don Means, Gigabit Libraries Network

Toby Bradley, Pascagoula MS School District


 Building a Broadband Network (Part 1)

Denise Atkinson-Shorey, e-Luminosity (M)

Duke Horan, Henkels & McCoy

Randy Lowe, Davis Wright  Tremaine, LLP

John Honker, Magellan Advisors

Scot Eberle, Fiber Utilities Group

 11:00-11:15 a.m.


 11:15-12:15 p.m.

  E-Rate #2:

E-rate Capital Investment

Jen Leasure, The Quilt (M)

Emily Almond, Georgia Public Library Service

Alan Katz, Sunesys

Jamie Huber, COPESD



Rural Broadband #1:

Sustainable Localism

Sean McLaughlin, Access Humboldt (M)

Frank Odasz, Lone Eagle Consulting

Pam Lloyd, GCI

Edyael Casaperalta, Rural Broadband Policy Group


Building a Broadband Network (Part 2)

Denise Atkinson-Shorey, e-Luminosity (M)

  Duke Horan, Henkels & McCoy (M)

  Randy Lowe, Davis Wright  Tremaine, LLP

  John Honker, Magellan Advisors

  Scot Eberle, Fiber Utilities Group

 12:30-1:00 p.m.


1:00-2:00 p.m.



Plenary #3:  ConnectED

Tom Power, White House Office of Science & Technology Policy

Richard Culatta, U.S. Dept. of Education 

 2:15-3:15 p.m.

Broadband Planning #1:

Wireless Broadband Innovators: Anchors & Home


Bob Collie, ENA (M)

James Ratleff, Applied Research Designs

 Dr. Rouzbeh Yassini, UNH Broadband Center for Excellence



ConnectED #1

Private Sector Commitments to ConnectED 

Karen Perry, Clarion Collaborative (M)

Charles McKee, Sprint

Andrew Ko, Microsoft

Reg Leichty, Counsel to CoSN



Digital Inclusion #1:

CAIs and the Digital Divide (Part 1) 

Laura Breeden, NTIA (M)

Jon Gant, Center for Digital Inclusion

Karen Mossberger, Arizona State University

Helen Milner, Tinder Foundation


 3:15-3:30 p.m.


 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Broadband Planning #2:

Community Broadband Planning

Phil Lindley, ConnectME Authority (M)

Joshua Broder, Tilson

Chris Tamarin, Oregon BB Outreach

Susan Corbett, Axiom Technologies

Broadband Mapping:

The Key to New Knowledge Creation for CAIs

Marijke Visser, ALA (M)

Ken Wall, Geodata Services

Stacey Aldrich, PA State Library

Jarrid Keller, CA State Library

Digital Inclusion #2:

CAIs and the Digital Divide (Part 2) 

Francine Alkisswani, NTIA (M)

Samantha Becker, U. of Washington

Rodney Hopson, George Mason University 

 5:00-5:30 p.m.




5:30-5:45 p.m.

Plenary #4

Network Nebraska- Education; Success through Collaboration

Tom Rolfes, Education I.T. Manager, State of Nebraska


Zach Leverenz, CEO, EveryoneOn


6:00-7:30 p.m.


Friday. May 9th


8:30-9:30 a.m.

 Plenary #5

Dr. Dallas Dance, Superintendent of Schools, Baltimore County Public Schools


Joanne Hovis, President, CTC Engineering and Technology, Inc.


 9:45-10:45 a.m.

 E-Rate #3:

E-rate Benchmarks and Data 


Larra Clark, ALA (M)

Mark Walker, FCC

John Harrington, Funds for Learning

Jake Cowan, ULC



Wireless Broadband #2:

It Takes a Mobile Village to raise a Mobile Child:

Developing Mobile Learning across the Community

Sarah Morris, New America Foundation (M)

Kevin Capp, Mobile Pulse

Sheryl Abshire, Calcasieu Parish Schools

Lindsey Harmon, Connect Nevada



 Digital Inclusion #3:

Kansas City, Google, Digital Divide

Angela Siefer, Center for Digital Inclusion (M)

Erica Swanson, Google Fiber

Cheptoo Kositany-Buckner, KC Public Library

Crosby Kemper, KC Public Library

Michael Liimatta, Connecting for Good


10:45-11:15 a.m.


 11:15-12:15 p.m.

Gigabit Cities #1:

Beyond BTOP: Partnerships for Gigabit 

Brian Proffit, Zayo Bandwidth (M)

Jim Stewart, Utah Education Network

Laura Spining Dodson,NTIA

Mark Johnson, MCNC


Rural Broadband #2:

Rural Broadband Experiments and the CAF 

Heather Gold, Fiber to the Home Council (M)

Jonathan Chambers, FCC

John Gillispie, MOREnet

Alyssa Clemsen, Utilities Telecommunications Council



Digital Inclusion #4:


Sustaining Digital Inclusion

Kami Griffiths, CTN (M)

Allison Walsh, Broadband Rhode Island

Dionne Baux, Smart Communities Chicago

Stu Johnson, ConnectOhio 


 12:30-1:00 p.m.


1:00-2:00 p.m.



Plenary #6

Angie Simpson, Deputy Administrator, NTIA

Blair Levin, Executive Director, Gig.U


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.